Skip to content

Fiji Day – celebrate what?

October 9, 2009

makawa

Celebrating Fiji Day post 2006 coup have been questioned by many in the heartland and abroad because of the political quagmire back home.

I recall whilst serving as a Legal Advisor with RAMSI in the Solomon Islands from 2007-2008, the late Panapasa Balekana, father of Atu Balekana (Taukei Anderson) and father-in-law of Luisa Balekana (Taukei Golf Club), the humble man from Kadavu who wrote the National Anthem of the Solomon Islands asked me as we neared the Fiji Day Celebrations in Honiara in 2007, what was there to celebrate about because of the political situation back home?

I told Na Qase o Panapasa, to remember Fiji for what it used to be and what we hope for it to become. He accepted this and went on to present one of the most enlgihtening and uplifting speeches I’ve ever heard as he spoke on the origins of the Fijian Association in the Solomon Islands beginning with the late Rev. Epeneri Vula as its 1st President.

I wish to acknowledge all the families who have suffered at the hands of this murderous illegal regime. Those who have lost loved ones, those whom have lost their livelihoods, those whom have lost their marriages, etc all as a direct or indirect consequence of Frank’s December 2006 coup. I say to you, never give up or lose hope because justice will prevail!

Today the Fiji Day Celebrations begin the world over. Some have asked me what am I celebrating? For me, I celebrate the fact, I have brothers and sisters, cousins, nieces, nephews, aunties and uncles still living in Fiji.

I celebrate the fact, I still call Fiji my home and nothing this illegal junta can do will ever take this away from me. I celebrate what Fiji has given to me and also my small contributions in return. I still owe a lot to Fiji and as sure as day light follows the night, when democracy has been fully restored and the coup perpetrators have all been brought to justice in Fiji, I will return to help restore and strengthen its Constitutional institutions, to ensure Fiji never goes down this slippery path again. Now that’s something to look forward to and I invite you to celebrate along with me!

I want to acknowledge this picture was taken from fellow freedom blogger Luvei Viti: (Children of Fiji). I wish to send a Happy Fiji Day greetings to all the gang in Honiara, Tamana Kativerata (Taukei Yacht Club) & Mereani, Reggie (Taukei Fishing Village), Tubuna (Taukei Kukum), Valekeva (Taukei ni vanua), Tahi (Taukei ni tavaya) & Ruby (Taukei Bula Bar) .

I also wish to send Happy Fiji Day greetings to all freedom bloggers, especially those in NZ, Oman and the US and a special one to Adi, happy belated birthday, my partner in crime. O BAU NA YANUYANU!

HAPPY FIJI DAY!!!

  • Tui Savu.
  • President.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Manning permalink
    October 9, 2009 12:00 PM

    now, think of your blessings !

  2. Mark Manning permalink
    October 9, 2009 12:00 PM

    Happy Fiji Day for Saturday folks, I’ll be at Belmore Oval in Sydney, see you there.

  3. October 9, 2009 12:09 PM

    Happy Fiji Day folks and can’t wait to celebrate it in Fiji, with these bastrads all behind bars.

  4. Peace Pipe permalink
    October 9, 2009 2:24 PM

    I am totally not enthused by the call to celebrate FD. Whats there to celebrate when our freedom has been forcefully wrenched away from us by these military bandits. I will quietly celebrate what Fiji was and hope what it will be one day after all these nonsense has been cleared away once and for all. I will meditate on the quick exit of these coupsters so that normality will return sooner rather than later.

  5. Gauna permalink
    October 9, 2009 11:34 PM

    Well due to weather the Fiji Day celebrations in Auckland NZ has been cancelled my heartfelt concerns to all those who have spent monies preparing for this ocassion.

  6. October 12, 2009 1:51 PM

    Happy Fiji Day!!. Out of the 39 years of independence, we only have 17 years of freedom. The last 22 years has been a mayhem….begining in 1987 and still continuing!!!!. We should do away with Fiji Day celebration on our calender and starting from next year we should mark 14 May as a day of mourning!!. Marking the the day that democracy was initially raped in our beloved nation 22 years ago!, and the starting of Coup culture!. We should mark it as a day of shame and mourning. The day that we remember Fiji with our prayers!!!.

  7. October 13, 2009 10:16 AM

    My brother sent me a txt Happy Fiji day and my response was its no longer a happy Fiji day, lets be frank with one another and stop all the crape. Its not worth celebrating Fiji Day when the situation in Fiji in this point in time is a total mess, you just have to look around you and see it.
    The people in Fiji have to stand up and be counted for what and who they are and I will say this again starting with the chiefs, church, elders and the common people if you love your country stand up and do something, enough of this towing the line cause your children and grand children will suffer for the rest of their lives.
    God bless Fiji

  8. Reg permalink
    October 13, 2009 10:50 AM

    Hec,

    One question to you and the others I guess.. Why do you always ask someone else to stand up and be counted?

    I am telling my relatives not to stand up, I do not want to have them taken into camp, beaten, made to run around.

    I do not want to bury any of my relatives, I do not want to have to console any mourning relatives.

    I do not want to have the expenses of another funeral

    I do not want to have my children, nephews and nieces orphaned.

    If you want that for your family, go stand in the middle of Suva and create a fuss.

    If you are lucky and are Australian or NZ citizen the state will help to look after your family when you are gone, wages are good, schooling is free and food is cheap, so they should be OK.

    In the meantime your family in Fiji will mourn you, bury you and nothing will have changed.

    This is something I said before… FB has stated publicly that he will see this through. There is very little you or I can achieve by criticizing him publicly or otherwise…

    God bless Fiji (which one.. I have seen many Fiji’s in my life, it has changed immeasurably since I was a child)

    Reg

  9. October 19, 2009 11:40 AM

    I’m not only asking my relatives to stand up but the whole of Fiji to stand up and be counted.
    I don’t think Frank can manage that, its why the PER is still in place to stop people from protesting.
    The more critism this type a dictatorship gets the better, because it will get people to understand the situation better.

  10. Reg permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:03 PM

    Unfortunately Hector,,

    You will never get all of Fiji to stand up, because Fiji is split over this….
    There are those that want to preserve the status quo,
    There are those that want a change
    There are those that really don’t give a hoot and just want to get on with their lives.

    I agree that the dictatorship is bad.. I agree that coups are bad,

    I also believe that FB doesn’t read this blog, I also believe that if he did he wouldn’t pay too much attention to it contents..

    I believe that the only people that are influencing FB are those that are actually talking to him (Aiyaz and all those others we love to criticise)..

    I believe that as the Govts of Aust and NZ are finding out.. telling FB that he is a bad boy doesn’t work.. you actually need to talk to talk to the man to be able to influence him…

    The situation often reminds me of my children.. they get sulky and don’t want to talk when they don’t get their way… If I get the same… then what hope for the house….Lets get out of the school yard… maybe it is not a good analogy… but it makes me smile… Better that than the thought of funerals for my relatives…

Leave a Reply

