Skip to content

SWM’s response to Father Kevin Barr’s comments

October 8, 2009

Barr

Bloggers, Father Kevin Barr’s comments during the launch of his Book ‘Blessed are the rich’seem to be targeting Johnny come latelies, like Atu Vulaono and his brother Police Commissioner Teleni, who are stealing the limelight away from the insecure established denominations, including that of Father Barr’s.

Not to forget, their being unjustly enriched together with Frank, his Military Officers and all coup supporters because of this coup.

I recall a Methodist Talatala in Narewa, Nadi in the early eighties when his Congregation’s Solivakamisinari were slow in coming; he used to reprimand his Vakatawa’s and Tuirara’s from condemning the Congregation for not paying up their Solivakamisinari because he said it could be a direct product of their service.

In other words bloggers, this wise Talatala was saying, instead of blaming the congregation, maybe the problem is us and we need to change our ways.

There is a direct correlation between the growth in these self-assured preachers with American Christianity slant in Fiji and the demise of the established major denominations, namely the Methodist Church & the Catholic Church. You only have to look at their stances with Frank’s 2006 coup to draw your own conclusions.

Father Barr & Rev. Akuila Yabaki’s staunch support of the NCCBF, which is a direct product of the coup, clearly shows where they stand.

The Methodist Church in backing down from Frank’s threat not to hold the Conference, unlike the courageous Marama Bale na Roko Tui Dreketi and willingly subdue themselves to this illegal regime clearly shows their having lost their high calling.

I think my Tovata Talatala from Narewa was onto something with his wise words and I call upon the major denominations to turn from their wrong ways, if it wants to regain the high moral ground and continue to be a beacon of righteousness to the people of Fiji during these dark and oppressive days.

  • Tui Savu.
  • President.

Publish date/time: 08/10/2009 [07:48]

Many people are not well instructed in their faith and can easily fall victim to those self assured preachers who seem to have more knowledge of the bible than they do. This is what prompted Father Kevin Barr who is ECREA’s Program Consultant and author of the new edition “Blessed are the Rich”, to re-release the book which is focused on examining the new religious groups in Fiji.

Barr said the book grew out of an increasing concern of the rapid growth of Americanized Christianity in the Pacific. CCF’s Executive Director Reverend Akuila Yabaki who launched the book said the focus has changed from sharing the word of God, to that of gaining more prosperity for one’s self. The book which was first released in 1998 has been reprinted three times with the latest edition adding another chapter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Manning permalink
    October 8, 2009 1:37 PM

    God will not ask :-
    http://www.heartwarmingstories.net/notask.htm

  2. October 8, 2009 3:47 PM

    Hear! Hear! MM.

  3. keith gregory permalink
    May 29, 2012 3:03 AM

    I agree with Kevin Barr . I am a penticostal Christian with strong links to Fiji . I have seen miracles and even have had several myself ..(well I am at a Uni in Darwin studying post graduate law after a horrific accident in 1996 that should have left me a quadriplegic but didnt .)
    OK , lets get one thing straight ; I believe in prosperity theology totally , Thats the Biblical version , Of God providing your NEEDS according to His Riches , of God providing IDEAS in your work in according to His Wealth of them and God providing WISDOM as far as financial planning goes ..What? but hes contradicted himself ! Tikolo mada and open you dalinga …!lol

    I have not “tithed” in more than 10 years as the more I saw of this american thing the more dissolusioned I got . The blackboard at the soli in Vaileka was blasphemous as the right hand shouldnt know what the left is giving when you give soli of any sort . I gave about 20,000 to the church here in Darwin from 1992-98 and 15,000 AUD$ to the church in Fiji from 1997-2000 . When I came back to Darwin they deserted me and many others …This Americanised church left a trail of wrecked and broken lives , sexual immorality and in my case spiritual abuse that taken a long time to heal ..in fact I hardly trust the penticostal church now ..

    Back to the subject .. Of course Gods given me money in due time , credit in due time .(We survived a time on a remote community where we were totally unable to get fuel and food , but God opened up many doors and we were still way ahead , best fed , fuelled , clothed and equipped . The nearest supermarket was 250km away and the nearest fuel was 100 .

    I have seen him save me from head on collisions with road trains (three semi trailer long trucks) , have seen him protect me , have seen him show me and comfort me . No tithe was paid to the church ..

    OK what does that say about the Americanised version of Christianity .”Give money to the Church or you are cursed !”

    OK , I have seen God teach me how to service a car , how to weld , how to do many jobs I have not been trained to do . I have seen God take me through University though I have no resources or have trouble writing and understanding it all .

    Frank,stop s ome of the charlatans that come into Fiji from overseas in the name of God ..

Leave a Reply

